Yarmouthian stage - vTomb

Yarmouthian stage

People & Blogs
Howto & Style
News & Politics
Science & Technology
Film & Animation
Autos & Vehicles
Nonprofits & Activism
Travel & Events
Pets & Animals

The Yarmouthian stage and the Yarmouth Interglacial were part of a now obsolete geologic timescale of the early Quaternary of North America.
This climatic and chronological framework was composed of four glacial and interglacial stages. It was developed between 1894 and 1909 by geomorphologists and Quaternary geologists to subdivide glacial and nonglacial deposits within the United States of America. From youngest to oldest, they were the Wisconsin glaciation, Sangamonian (interglacial), Illinoian Stage (glacial), Yarmouthian, Kansan glaciation, Aftonian (interglacial), and Nebraskan stages. The Yarmouthian (Yarmouth) Interglacial was defined first on the basis of "interglacial" sediments encountered in wells dug in southeasterm Iowa. Later the Yarmouth (Yarmouthian) stage in Illinois was defined on the basis of the Yarmouth Paleosol (Soil) developed in the surface of what were thought at that time to be "Kansan" glacial tills and buried by Illionian glacial tills of the Glasford Formation in southeast Iowa and east-central Illinois. At this time, it was incorrectly presumed that the Yarmouth Paleosol formed during a single interglacial stage that separated a younger glacial stage, the Illinoian Glaciation, represented by the sediments of the Glasford Formation in Illinois and the glacial deposits of an older glacial stage, called the "Kansan Glaciation"

By using our services, you agree to our Privacy Policy.
Powered by Wildsbet.

© 2022 vTomb

By using our services, you agree to our Privacy Policy.
Got it